Requirements

Please Note

Once an applicant has submitted all of the required documents (below) to become a University of Florida Caterer, the applicant should expect a 24-48 hour vetting period during which the University will insure that all documents and licenses are in proper order and that all of the insurance criteria are met.

Also, the University of Florida Board of Trustees should be listed as Additionally Insured on all insurance documents.


Licenses

All caterers seeking to do business with UF as an approved off-campus caterer must be licensed annually by the State of Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulations - Division of Hotels and Restaurants. Catering operations must meet all applicable standards of a public food service establishment as provided by the division. Additional information on catering licensing requirements can be found at: https://www.myfloridalicense.com.

Health Inspection

All caterers seeking to do business with UF as an approved off-campus caterer must be in good standing with the State of Florida Department of Health County Health Department’s most recent public health inspection scores. In addition, UF Business Services Division must be notified immediately if a health inspection violation calls for a caterer to cease business operations until a correction is addressed.

Registered UF Vendor

All caterers seeking to do business with UF as an approved off-campus caterer must be registered as a vendor and have a UF vendor number. Please visit the Supplier Portal (http://www.fa.ufl.edu/directives/supplier-portal/) to complete or update your profile.

Insurance

All caterers seeking to do business with UF as an approved off-campus caterer must provide evidence of insurance in accordance to limits set by UF’s Risk Management insurance office. The parameters of UF off-campus insurance is as follows:

  • Limits per occurrence: General Liability - $1,000,000
  • Auto Liability - $500,000
  • Alcohol Liability (if licensed) - $1,000,000
  • UF Board of Trustees must be named as additionally insured as a certificate holder

Worker's Compensation

All caterers seeking to do business with UF as an approved off-campus caterer must carry Worker's Compensation Insurance as required by Chapter 440, Florida Statutes. Firms with less than 2 employees who claim to be exempt from carrying Worker's Compensation must provide the University with a workers comp exemption certificate. Information related the Workers Comp Exemption Certificate can be found at the following website: http://www.myfloridacfo.com/division/wc/

Other

All caterers must also: